Tagline: Until the Work Is Done
Equality California Executive Director Rick Zbur Honored by California LGBT Caucus
June 19, 2017 at 1:14 pm

In This Section


June 19, 2017

CONTACT: Jason Howe, Equality California
PHONE: (323) 848-9801/MOBILE: (415) 595-9245/EMAIL: jason@eqca.org

Sacramento—The California Legislative LGBT Caucus today honored Equality California Executive Director Rick Zbur, the San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus and nine other advocates for LGBTQ civil rights during ceremonies in both the Senate and Assembly. The ceremonies were part of the adoptions of House Resolution 41 and Senate Resolution 46, both in honor of LGBTQ Pride Month.

“Rick Zbur has been a lifelong trailblazer for the LGBT community,” said Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Silicon Valley), chair of the California Legislative LGBT Caucus. “It’s an honor to recognize such a tireless advocate for equality who has championed social justice and environmental causes throughout his career.”

“I’m honored and humbled to be recognized with such an outstanding group of LGBTQ leaders,” said Zbur. “Our community and our state are fortunate to have such an abundance of talented leadership that will help protect the civil rights protections that we’ve worked so hard to achieve.”

Also honored as part of today’s ceremony were SFPD Officer Mikayla Connell, Evans Hotels President and CEO Robert Gleason, San Francisco Women’s Building founder Roma Pauline Guy, Joel Flatow of the Recording Industry Association of America, Daniel Jimenez of the San Joaquin Pride Center, Ken Jones of the BART Police Department Citizen Review Board, entrepreneur Michaela Mendelsohn, National LGBTQ Task Force Deputy Executive Director Russell Roybal, and Brian Reagan, manager of Orlando’s Pulse Night Club and survivor of the deadly shooting there.

Originally formed in 2002, the Caucus serves as a forum for the California Legislature to discuss issues that affect LGBTQ Californians and to further the goal of equality and justice for all Californians. Current Caucus members are its chair, Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Silicon Valley), Vice Chair Senator Ricardo Lara (D-Bell Gardens), Senators Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton), and Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco), and Assemblymembers Susan Talamantes Eggman (D-Stockton), Sabrina Cervantes (D-Corona), and Todd Gloria (D-San Diego). The Caucus’ formation made California the first state in the country to recognize an official caucus of openly-LGBT state legislators.


Equality California is the nation’s largest statewide lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights organization dedicated to creating a fair and just society. Our mission is to achieve and maintain full and lasting equality, acceptance, and social justice for all people in our diverse LGBT communities, inside and outside of California. Our mission includes advancing the health and well-being of LGBT Californians through direct healthcare service advocacy and education. Through electoral, advocacy, education and mobilization programs, we strive to create a broad and diverse alliance of LGBT people, educators, government officials, communities of color and faith, labor, business, and social justice communities to achieve our goals. www.eqca.org

Share This Story