Tagline: Until the Work Is Done
Equality California Endorses 21 Pro-Equality Candidates Ahead of the 2023 California Democratic Convention
November 15, 2023 at 11:54 am

In This Section


November 15, 2023

CONTACT: Jorge Reyes Salinas, Equality California
PHONE: (213) 355-3057/MOBILE: (213) 355-3057/EMAIL: press@eqca.org

LOS ANGELES, Calif. — Equality California, the nation’s largest statewide LGBTQ+ civil rights organization, announced the endorsements of 21 pro-equality candidates, including 9 out LGBTQ+ candidates, running for election at the federal, state, and local level in 2024 — the organization’s latest round of endorsements in its largest electoral efforts in history. 

“We are thrilled to endorse these pro-equality candidates, both incumbent and new, at all levels of government,” said Executive Director Tony Hoang. “The challenges we continue to face in creating a world that is just and fully equal for all LGBTQ+ people demand that we elect pro-equality lawmakers and leaders that will work to defend our community’s hard-fought gains, as well as continue to pave new ground in the ongoing fight for full, lived equality.”

The full new list of endorsements can be found below.

U.S. House of Representatives:

  • Congressional District 13: Adam Gray
  • Congressional District 22: Rudy Salas
  • Congressional District 23: Derek Marshall
  • Congressional District 27: George Whitesides
  • Congressional District 40: Allyson Muniz-Damikolas
  • Congressional District 47: Dave Min

California Assembly:

  • Assembly District 19: Catherine Stefani
  • Assembly District 50: DeJonaé Shaw
  • Assembly District 52: Jessica Caloza

California Senate:

  • Senate District 23: Kipp Mueller
  • Senate District 29: Eloise Reyes
  • Senate District 39: Akilah Weber

Local Offices:

  • Alameda County Board of Supervisors, District 4: Jennifer Esteen
  • Kern County Board of Supervisors, District 4: Alex Garcia
  • Los Angeles Unified School Board, District 5: Fidencio Gallardo
  • San Diego County Board of Supervisors, District 3: Terra Lawson-Remer
  • Santa Cruz City Council, District 5: Joe Thompson
  • Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors, District 5: Monica Martinez
  • Solano County Board of Supervisors, District 1: Michael Wilson
  • Stockton City Council, District 4: Mario Enriquez

Bold names indicate out LGBTQ+ candidates.

For a complete list of Equality California’s endorsements, please visit eqca.org/elections.


Equality California is the nation’s largest statewide LGBTQ civil rights organization. We bring the voices of LGBTQ people and allies to institutions of power in California and across the United States, striving to create a world that is healthy, just, and fully equal for all LGBTQ people. We advance civil rights and social justice by inspiring, advocating and mobilizing through an inclusive movement that works tirelessly on behalf of those we serve. www.eqca.org

Share This Story