Tagline: Until the Work Is Done
All News & Updates   /   Press Releases   /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /     /  
Equality California Endorses 29 Pro-Equality Legislators for Re-Election
February 3, 2022 at 8:00 am

In This Section


February 3, 2022

CONTACT: Jorge Reyes Salinas, Equality California
PHONE: (323) 848-9801/MOBILE: (213) 355-3057/EMAIL: press@eqca.org

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Equality California, the nation’s largest statewide LGBTQ+ civil rights organization, has endorsed 29 incumbent legislators running for re-election to the California Senate and Assembly in 2022. Equality California extends pro forma endorsements to incumbent candidates in the California Assembly and Senate who have earned a 100% pro-equality rating on the organization’s legislative scorecards in both of the last two years and who meet Equality California’s code of ethics, standards of conduct and other applicable endorsement criteria. (See below for additional details.)

The organization released the following statement from Executive Director Tony Hoang on Thursday announcing the endorsements:

“LGBTQ+ Californians are lucky to have so many strong pro-equality champions fighting for our civil rights and social justice in Sacramento. Indeed, the Golden State is leading the nation’s fight for full, lived LGBTQ+ equality — serving as a beacon of hope to LGBTQ+ people around the world — because of our partners in the California Legislature. As they continue to stand with Equality California and demonstrate their unwavering support for a world that is healthy, just and fully equal for all LGBTQ+ people, we’ll continue to stand with them — and we’re confident that California voters will, too.”

Equality California has endorsed the following legislators for re-election in 2022:

California Senate

  • Senate District 2: Mike McGuire

  • Senate DIstrict 24: Ben Allen

  • Senate DIstrict 26: María Elena Durazo

California Assembly

  • Assembly District 2: Jim Wood

  • Assembly District 4: Cecilia Aguiar-Curry

  • Assembly District 6: Kevin McCarty

  • Assembly District 14: Buffy Wicks

  • Assembly District 18: Mia Bonta

  • Assembly District 19: Phil Ting

  • Assembly District 23: Marc Berman

  • Assembly District 24: Alex Lee

  • Assembly District 25: Ash Kalra

  • Assembly District 26: Evan Low

  • Assembly District 28: Mark Stone

  • Assembly District 29: Robert Rivas

  • Assembly District 38: Steve Bennett

  • Assembly District 41: Chris Holden

  • Assembly District 43: Luz Rivas
  • Assembly District 46: Jesse Gabriel

  • Assembly District 52: Wendy Carrillo

  • Assembly District 54: Miguel Santiago

  • Assembly District 55: Isaac Bryan

  • Assembly District 56: Lisa Calderon

  • Assembly District 57: Reggie Jones-Sawyer

  • Assembly District 62: Anthony Rendon

  • Assembly District 65: Mike Gipson

  • Assembly District 66: Al Muratsuchi

  • Assembly District 78: Chris Ward

  • Assembly District 79: Akilah Weber

Candidates shown in bold are members of the California Legislative LGBTQ Caucus.

Additional Details:

Candidates who took office in 2021 are evaluated based on last year’s score only. Incumbents running in the same race as other incumbents are not eligible for pro forma endorsements but have been invited to apply for endorsement. Equality California’s Endorsement Process and Guidelines are available online at eqca.org/elections. Equality California’s 2020 and 2021 Legislative Scorecards are available online here.

For a full list of Equality California’s 2022 endorsements to date, visit eqca.org/elections.


Equality California is the nation’s largest statewide LGBTQ civil rights organization. We bring the voices of LGBTQ people and allies to institutions of power in California and across the United States, striving to create a world that is healthy, just, and fully equal for all LGBTQ people. We advance civil rights and social justice by inspiring, advocating and mobilizing through an inclusive movement that works tirelessly on behalf of those we serve. www.eqca.org

Share This Story